Listen Live

INDIANAPOLIS – There’s a new sheriff in Canton, Ohio.

In what was the most obvious modern-day induction, Peyton Manning is officially a first ballot member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Manning’s induction became official on Saturday night, after Hall of Fame voters selected him for the Class of 2021.

Here’s an abbreviated list of the rare accolades achieved by Manning in his 18-year career:

-71,940 passing yards (3rd in NFL history)

-539 passing touchdowns (3rd in NFL history)

-43 fourth-quarter comebacks (1st in NFL history)

-5,477 passing yards in the 2013 season (1st in NFL history)

-55 passing touchdowns in the 2013 season (1st in NFL history)

-5 MVP awards (1st in NFL history)

-7-time 1st Team All-Pro

-Member of the NFL 2000s All-Decade Team

-Won two Super Bowl titles, one with the Colts (2006 season) and one with the Broncos (2015 season)

Manning was selected No. 1 overall by the Colts in 1998. He played for the Colts from 1998-2011. Manning finished his career by playing 4 seasons with the Broncos.

The 2021 Class for the Pro Football Hall of Fame will be inducted on Sunday, August 8th in Canton. They will actually be inducted along with the 2020 Class, which had their ceremony postponed due to COVID-19. Former Colts great Edgerrin James is a member of the 2020 Class.

Reggie Wayne was a finalist in 2021, but missed out on being inducted for a second straight year.

Leave a Reply