Listen Live

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA has announced more details regarding the state of Indiana hosting this year’s Division I men’s basketball tournament.

“Selection Sunday,” the day when the selection committee reveals the teams that make the tourament, will be on March 14.

The tournament will then start Thursday, March 18, with the “First Four,” which are the play-in games. Those games will be played at Purdue University’s Mackey Arena and Indiana University’s Simon Skodjt Assembly Hall.

The first round will then be on March 19 and 20. Those games will be played at Mackey Arena and Assembly Hall, along with Butler University’s Hinkle Fieldhouse, the Indiana Farmers Coliseum at the state fairgrounds, Bankers Life Fieldhouse, and Lucas Oil Stadium.

The next round will be Sunday, March 21 and Monday, March 22, being played only at the four venues in Indianapolis.

Hinkle Fieldhouse and Bankers Life Fieldhouse will host “Sweet 16” games on Saturday, March 27 and Sunday, March 28. Normally, those games took place in primetime, with some games overlapping each other. The NCAA says this year, each game will be played at separate times.

The rest of the tournament will be played at Lucas Oil Stadium, with the “Elite 8” on the nights of Monday, March 29 and Tuesday, March 30, the “Final Four” on Saturday, April 3, and the national championship on Monday, April 5.

The NCAA has not made a final decision on if fans will be allowed to attend any of the games.

Leave a Reply