Listen Live

INDIANAPOLIS — Worries that the 104th running of the Indianapolis 500 will not have a full field of 33-cars has been put to bed.

With the entry of DragonSpeed Racing’s entry into the field, they secured the 33rd slot in the list of cars and drivers that have entered into the race. Ben Hanley will be the driver of the #81 DragonSpeed USA car and will compete in his second Indy 500 with the team.

They are likely to be the last entry confirmed to the field with Top Gun Racing confirming to Racer Magazine last week that they will not be fielding a car for the race.

Though the good news is that the field will be full, the bad news is there will not be a Bump Day this year, given exactly 33-cars have been entered. Eight of the entries are past Indy 500 champions.

Team Penske will field it’s same four drivers as in previous years in Josef Newgarden, Will Power, Simon Pagenaud, and Helio Castroneves, who is again coming over from running for Acura Team Penske in IMSA.

There will be three Chip Ganassi entries this year with regular drivers Scott Dixon and Felix Rosenqvist. They’ll be joined by Marcus Ericsson, who joining Ganassi after being let go from Schmidt-Peterson Motorsports in its merger with McLaren.

Andretti Autosport will once again field six drivers in Alexander Rossi, Ryan Hunter-Reay, and Zach Veach, along with part-timer James Hinchcliffe, who is competing in his final race of the IndyCar season as part of a three-race deal with the team.

Colton Herta, in a partnership with Harding-Steinbrenner, and Marco Andretti round out the Andretti entries.

Rahal-Letterman-Lanigan Racing is going once again with its tandem of Graham Rahal and Takuma Sato. AJ Foyt Enterprises have entered Charlie Kimball, Tony Kanaan, and Dalton Kellett.

This will be Arrow McLaren SP’s first Indy 500 since their merger was finalized and will have two rookies battling three other rookies in the field for Rookie of the Year honors in Pato O’Ward and Oliver Askew.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay is one of those three other rookies and will join his boss Ed Carpenter and Noblesville-native Conor Daly in the ECR stable.

Dale Coyne Racing will be competitive as always with Santino Ferrucci as their lead driver. But add James Davison and Alex Palou to their mix.

This will be the first year Dreyer and Reinbold Racing will field more than one car in the race. The team sticking with its regular entry in Sage Karam, but they have now added JR Hildebrand to their roster in the #67-car after securing sponsorship from Salesforce.

Of the teams fielding only one car will be Meyer Shank Racing with Jack Harvey, Carlin with Max Chilton, and Spencer Pigot, who will be apart of the Rahal stable of cars but also in partnership with Rick Ware Racing, Byrd & Belardi.

Practice for the Indianapolis 500 opens tomorrow, Aug. 12, and will run through Friday. Qualifying will take place on Saturday and Sunday.

The final practice will be on the traditional Carb Day Friday before the race but will be expanded to two hours instead of one hour. Raceday is Aug. 23rd at 1:00 p.m. and you can hear the race live on 93.5 and 107.5 The Fan, as well as 93 WIBC.

Leave a Reply